Thank You Duncan Hines

After a week of high emotions and waking up this morning, feeling like I was at the end of my ropes, I did what any same person would do:  I made brownies.  Salted Caramel brownies, courtesy of Duncan Hines.

I am not ashamed to admit that I took the easy route.  There was a box of brownie mix sitting in the pantry.  I had completely forgotten it was there until my body remembered for me and proceeded to scream for it.  So I took the brownie mix, added an egg, some water and vegetable oil and got to work.

mixingIn a pan

The best part was adding the caramel.  This was my first experience with marbling.  I find it ironic that it was with a box mix, rather than a comprehensive recipe.

Caramel-ing!DSC_0010

I don’t think I need to tell you how amazing the final product was.  I mean, just look at it!

Before the cutAfter the cut

Next time, I will forgo the convenience of box mix and return to the endlessly satisfying experience of baking from scratch.  I just had to share this wonderful indulgence.  Not to mention, it gave me a reason to use my camera today.  That is a win in my book.

P.s.  Duncan Hines has nothing to do with this post.  Just throwing that out there.

Leave a Reply

