An Actual Beginning

I wanted this to primarily be a blog of photographs.  The impetus for me to take pictures regularly and immerse myself in the art.  I have spent the few days since posting my first poorly taken photograph, perusing the depths of WordPress in an attempt to learn more about the world of blogging.  This has brought me to the realization that not only do I not have to lock myself into a box with the words “Photo Blog” written on it, but that I also do not necessarily want to.

I want this to be a place for me to leave pieces of myself.  Mostly pieces I am too afraid to share with the world in my everyday life.  My passions, my art, my fears, my anxieties, my loves; I want to give them a voice.  My hope is that this will help me stay on track in pursuing my dreams, even if they are not always 100% clear to me.

So, who am I?  Most call me Jon.  I am a classically trained, contemporary ballet dancer.  At least that is what I need to get in the habit of telling people more.  In reality, I have been on “hiatus” for over 6 months now.  I work in a restaurant as a bartender and server to pay the bills.  For a little extra money, I work as a nude (occasionally clothed) model for local art schools.  If you’ve read my first post, you know that I recently purchased an entry level professional camera and that is what spurred me to create this blog.  I have a passion for language and have been, slowly, teaching myself Japanese, Spanish and French.  I also want to learn Dutch and Portuguese among others.  My hope is to pursue a Graduate degree in a few years that will merge all of my passions.  I’ll most likely end up in academia for the rest of my life, which is not necessarily a bad thing as long as I still get to perform and do other things on the side.

I have no clue where this blog is going to go, or how it will unfold.  I don’t even know how long it will last.  I just know at this point in my life, it is something I need.

Leave a Reply

